The ONE Philippines Humanitarian Award


     The ONE Philippines Humanitarian Award

 In life, there are those who embrace risks in the pursuance of their advocacies; these are the unsung heroes who devote full time and efforts to their noble cause. The One Philippines Humanitarian Award benefit gala recently honored three exemplary individuals who inspire, who share their unselfish mission to help the less fortunate in their communities.  Held at the ballroom of the Marriott Hotel, the subsidiary project of The ONE International was presented in partnership with Rotary International Zone 10. It is the brainchild of Hongkong resident, Rotarian and businessman David Harilela.

Leaving an indelible mark on their philanthropic world were TOP awardees:  Dara Mae Tuazon, a 19 year old college student who won the TOP first prize. Her younger years were spent teaching indigent children since she was 11 years old.  She received P 1.5 million for her project and a chance to win US $100,000 at the ONE International competition in Hongkong in 2019.  Runners-up who received P500,000 each for their projects  were:  Dr. Roel Cagape from General Santos, Sarangani, with three free clinics; he climbs mountains to give free medical service in remote areas. Through his radio program and his health book, he disseminates valuable information. On the other hand, Chad Stamatelaky is a painter who together with his wife Melay adopt and send street children to school.

It was a stirring moment when the video presentations of these three outstanding awardees were shown. The audience was so moved by their passion and dedication; so much so, that it generated more donations in cash and in kind. Vintage wines were provided by Ralph’s Wines. Entertainment commenced with song numbers from Marc Chua and Nonon Baang. Danny Diaz from Hongkong regaled the guests with his song.  The selection of the winners was conducted in three stages. First, by the TOP directors and officers; second were:  Bruce Winton, Kingson Sian, Marife Zamora, Tiny Meneses, and Cynthia Picazo; the third: Senator Grace Poe, Philippine Tatler’s Irene Martel Francisco and Ateneo University’s Fr. Jet Villarin.  In the Philippines, TOP is chaired by Rotary director Raffy Garcia and Rotary directors Chit Lijauco, Sid Garcia, Connie de Venecia, Oyan Villanueva and Jess Cifra. The ONE Philippines entrusts the award monies with the sponsor Rotary Club who will dispense and monitor the funds.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.